“I am a brothers and sisters keeper,” UPND Kabwata MP Andrew Tayengwa assures Kamulanga Ward residents

“I am a brothers and sisters keeper,” UPND Kabwata MP Andrew Tayengwa(Third from Right) assures Kamulanga Ward residents



By Henry Chunza Saeed Simon Banda and Derrick Sinjela

UNITED Party for National Development (UPND) Kabwata Constituency Member of Parliament (MP) Andrew Tayengwa says helping needy individuals and families is top priority during his first term as a parliamentarian.

Speaking during a Saturday, 24th December, 2022 interaction with community members in Kamulanga Ward, south of Lusaka, Mr. Tayengwa implored Zambians to walk the talk as Citizens in a Christian Nation through ameliorating vulnerability beyond ones nuclear family.

In an apparent reference to Zambia’s extended family values, Tayengwa reiterated that being born and bred in Kabwata Constituency, it is his obligation to ease suffering at individual, family, community and national level.

“I am a brothers and sisters keeper,” UPND Kabwata MP Andrew Tayengwa assures Kamulanga Ward residents in an interview with Zambian Journalists 

“Today, we took time to share with the community of Jack compound with what God has blessed us with. Indeed Acts 20:35 is evidently fulfilled in us through this generosity in Kamulanga Ward of Kabwata Constituency, Jack Compound, where we are donating to vulnerable in conjunction with Women With Generosity Foundation (WWGF),” said Tayengwa.

Andrew Tayengwa with an Prime TV and ZNBC interview TV

Addressing an enthusiastic audience which included Ward Chairperson, Andrew Banda and Mary Zulu as Ward Chairlady, Tayengwa pledged to facilitate acquisition of 10 wheelchairs through WWGF once Cooperating Partners provide resources and logistics.

Said Tayengwa: “Once the Almighty God, through the Lord Jesus Christ, blesses us, it is incumbent upon everyone else to offer humanitarian aid to vulnerable communities including persons living with disability”.

Aside from rendering support to vulnerable communities ahead of 2022 Christmas and New Year 2023 festivities, and wishing Constituents. Compliments of the Season, Tayengwa says with the adjournment of Parliament sine die on Friday, 16th December, 2022, during recess period, together with the Councillors and Ward Development Committees (WDC’s) he will spend most of his time in the Constituency through public gatherings (Town Hall Meetings) and at the Parliamentary Office.

Groceries provided by Kabwata Constituency MP Andrew Tayengwa through Women With Generosity Foundation WWGF in Kamulanga Ward of Lusaka district

During interactions, Tayengwa will discuss the plan for the utilization of the 2023 Constituency Development Fund (CDF) with specific focus on Community Projects; review the Implementation and Progress of the 2021 – 2022 CDF Community Projects, 2022 CDF Empowerment Grants, 2022 Secondary School/ Skills Development Bursary and Update on the 2022 CDF Empowerment Loans and thirdly, like use interactions as a platform for getting feedback from Constituents on challenges in all the five (5) Wards, namely; Chilenje, Kabwata, Kamulanga, Kamwala and Libala we can find solutions.

Promising to provide over 200 mattresses, Tayengwa says he remains committed to serving all the good people of Kabwata Constituency in Lusaka.

Earlier, WWGF members explained that support is rendered beyond tribe, race, creed no political lines as all human beings in need are embraced.

Kamulanga residents listen to Andrew Tayengwa

Councilors in Kabwata Constituency are Mainda Simataa (Kamwala Ward),
Bwalya Chishala (Kabwata Ward),
Chabo Mwaba (Libala Ward), Reuben Mwenya (Chilenje Ward) and
Jackson Sibuyuba Kamulanga (Ward)

In 1973, Mary Mwango of the United National Independence Party (UNIP), was MP, succeeded in 1978, by Maxwell Sibongo of UNIP, and later Michael Sata of UNIP served twice as MP in 1983 and 1988.

In 1991, on Zambia’s return to Multiparty Democracy, Sata stood on the Movement for Multi-Party Democracy (MMD) ticket and won.
In 1996, Godfrey Miyanda of the MMD won and in a 2001 by-election, Richard Kachingwe of the Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD) won the seat.

In 2001, Given Lubinda of the United Party for National Development (UPND) won, and retained it three times in 2006, 2011 and 2016 on the Patriotic Front (PF) ticket.

In 2021, Andrew Tayengwa UPND won the seat in a by-election after the death of Levy Mkandawire of the UPND.

It is more blessed to give than it is to receive says Andrew Tayengwa, UPND Kabwata Constituency MP

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *